Road Service 704-256-8067

DCLI Sponsors AAPA’s 2022 Port Person of the Year Awards

Reprinted with permission from the AAPA

Presented each year by the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA), this year’s Port Person of the Year awards went to Senator Mark Warner of Virginia and Senator Bill Cassidy of Louisiana, who were two of the lead negotiators of the Ports and Waterways section of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law — formerly known as the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA).

The pair have proven tireless in their bipartisan advocacy for seaports and maritime.

AAPA’s Port Person of the Year award, which was first given in 1994, is awarded in recognition of an individual or individuals whose outstanding work or service has made a significant contribution to public port authorities and/or maritime commerce in the Western Hemisphere. Past awardees include government officials, trade or transportation industry leaders, and other individuals who have made significant contributions to advance the priorities of the public port community.

Senator Warner has given the following remarks on his receipt of Port Person of the Year, “I am honored to receive the recognition of ‘Port Person of the Year’ by the AAPA. I’ve worked hard in the Senate to secure investments for our ports, which serve as crucial economic engines in the Commonwealth and across the country, and provide good-paying jobs for the American people. I look forward to continuing to find ways to invest in our ports and our economy.”

Senator Cassidy has responded to his nomination to Port Person of the Year with the following statement, “Because I am from Louisiana, I am particularly honored to receive the American Association of Port Authorities’ Port Person of the Year award. … Louisiana has five of our country’s top 20 ports by tonnage, and they bring goods to market up and down the Mississippi River, and around the world. The nature of our import and export economy depends on our ports. It is critical that we maintain and develop our ports to meet the demands of our economy.”

The 2022 Port Person of the Year awards are sponsored by AAPA member, DCLI.